Independent Spirit Award Winners

Despite the rain that's been doing its best to end the drought in LA, the Independent Spirit Awards took place this afternoon on the beach, hosted by Patton Oswalt. In what I believe would be a first, there is a strong chance that all four acting winners could go on to win the Oscar tomorrow.

I was delighted to hear Frutivale Station (one of my favorite films of the year) won Best First Feature, but it was 12 Years a Slave that swept the awards.

Best Feature: 
12 Years a Slave
Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
Best Actress: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Best Supporting Actor: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club
Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave
Best Director: Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave
Best Documentary: Morgan Neville, 20 Feet From Stardom
Best Screenplay: John Ridley, 
12 Years a Slave
Best Cinematography: Sean Bobbitt, 
12 Years a Slave
Best International Film: Blue Is the Warmest Color
Best Editing: Nat Sanders, Short Term 12
Best First Feature: Fruitvale Station
Best First Screenplay: Bob Nelson, Nebraska
John Cassavetes Award: This is Martin Bonner
Robert Altman Award: Mud
Piaget Producers Award: Toby Halbrooks and James M. Johnston


Popular Posts